The Faculty Affairs Council (FAC) of the University of Missouri-Columbia School of Medicine was officially formed on January 26, 1977, to serve as a representative body of the medical school faculty in all matters of concern to that faculty, particularly issues relevant to the governance of the medical school.

Responsibilities:

  • Develop bylaws and review them periodically
  • Recommend medical school policy on appointment, promotion and granting of tenure
  • Promote affirmative action in faculty recruiting
  • Promote accurate reporting of faculty performance and load
  • Advise the Dean on candidates for appointment to standing committees
  • Conduct annual review of departmental chairs
  • Advocate for issues of faculty well-being

Composition:

  • One elected representative from each department
  • 8 representatives from Faculty Council
  • Non-voting ex officio member: Chief Wellness Officer, UMHC

Any member of the Medical School faculty may request any matter to be placed on the agenda of the Faculty Affairs Council and may request to be allowed to appear before the Faculty Affairs Council. Such requests may be made either through the Department representative or chair of the Faculty Affairs Council.

Department Council Member Email
Neurological Surgery, CHAIR Farhan Siddiq, MD farhansiddiq@missouri.edu
Anesthesiology
Jon Taylor, MD
jstrcf@missouri.edu
Biochemistry William Folk, PhD * folkW@missouri.edu
Dermatology Ashley Jenkins, MD jenkinsam@health.missouri.edu
Emergency Medicine Abbie Wright, MD wrightac@health.missouri.edu
Family and Community Medicine Luke Stephens, MD stephensla@health.missouri.edu
Biomedical Informatics, Biostatistics and Medical Epidemiology Mihail Popescu, PhD popescuM@health.missouri.edu
Medical Pharmacology and Physiology Taixing Cui, MD, PhD, FAHA taixingcui@health.missouri.edu
Molecular Microbiology and Immunology Diana Gil Pages, PhD gilpagesd@health.missouri.edu
Neurology Niraj Arora, MD arorana@health.missouri.edu
Nutrition and Exercise Physiology Jill Kanaley kanaleyj@missouri.edu
Obstetrics and Gynecology Karen Thies, DO thiesk@health.missouri.edu
Ophthalmology James Landreneau, MD landreneauj@health.missouri.edu
Orthopaedic Surgery Emily Leary, PhD learye@health.missouri.edu
Otolaryngology Mark Gilbert, MD gilbertmr@health.missouri.edu
Pathology and Anatomical Sciences Allison Nesbitt, PhD nesbitta@health.missouri.edu
Pediatrics Melissa Lawson, MD LawsonMA@health.missouri.edu
Phy. Medicine & Rehab Jane Anne Emerson, MD emersonj@health.missouri.edu
Psychiatry Ila Durkin, MD durkinI@health.missouri.edu
Radiology Nanda Thimmappa, MD thimmappan@health.missouri.edu
Radiation Oncology Gregory Biedermann, MD biedermanng@health.missouri.edu
Surgery - Pediatric Rony Marwan, MD amarwan@health.missouri.edu

* Pending approval