The Faculty Affairs Council (FAC) of the University of Missouri-Columbia School of Medicine was officially formed on January 26, 1977, to serve as a representative body of the medical school faculty in all matters of concern to that faculty, particularly issues relevant to the governance of the medical school.


  • Develop bylaws and review them periodically
  • Recommend medical school policy on appointment, promotion and granting of tenure
  • Promote affirmative action in faculty recruiting
  • Promote accurate reporting of faculty performance and load
  • Advise the Dean on candidates for appointment to standing committees
  • Conduct annual review of departmental chairs
  • Advocate for issues of faculty well-being


  • One elected representative from each department
  • 8 representatives from Faculty Council
  • Non-voting ex officio member: Chief Wellness Officer, UMHC

Any member of the Medical School faculty may request any matter to be placed on the agenda of the Faculty Affairs Council and may request to be allowed to appear before the Faculty Affairs Council. Such requests may be made either through the Department representative or chair of the Faculty Affairs Council.

Department Council Member Email
Neurological Surgery, CHAIR Farhan Siddiq, MD
Jon Taylor, MD
Biochemistry William Folk, PhD *
Dermatology Ashley Jenkins, MD
Emergency Medicine Abbie Wright, MD
Family and Community Medicine Luke Stephens, MD
Biomedical Informatics, Biostatistics and Medical Epidemiology Mihail Popescu, PhD
Medical Pharmacology and Physiology Taixing Cui, MD, PhD, FAHA
Molecular Microbiology and Immunology Diana Gil Pages, PhD
Neurology Niraj Arora, MD
Nutrition and Exercise Physiology Jill Kanaley
Obstetrics and Gynecology Karen Thies, DO
Ophthalmology James Landreneau, MD
Orthopaedic Surgery Emily Leary, PhD
Otolaryngology Mark Gilbert, MD
Pathology and Anatomical Sciences Allison Nesbitt, PhD
Pediatrics Melissa Lawson, MD
Phy. Medicine & Rehab Jane Anne Emerson, MD
Psychiatry Ila Durkin, MD
Radiology Nanda Thimmappa, MD
Radiation Oncology Gregory Biedermann, MD
Surgery - Pediatric Rony Marwan, MD

* Pending approval