Some of the nation's brightest medical students are enrolled in the MD-PhD program at the MU School of Medicine, and they have access to outstanding faculty mentors.

The Tom and Anne Smith MD-PhD Program is directed by Charlotte Phillips, PhD. The executive committee is another exceptional resource for the MD-PhD students. The committee consists of unique individuals with areas of expertise who are dedicated to helping research reach patients, academic medical centers at the University of Missouri and elsewhere by training a new generation of physician-scientists. Many members are physician-scientists themselves, and they all share a passion for mentoring and educating students. Students will be taught, challenged and inspired by leaders in research and clinical medicine.

Executive Committee Members

  • W. David Arnold, MD (Co-Director)
    Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
  • Brian Bostick, MD, PhD
    Assistant Professor, Clinical Medicine
  • Mark Daniels, PhD
    Associate Professor
    Molecular Microbiology and Immunology; Surgery
    Director of Graduate Studies
    Molecular Pathogenesis and Therapeutics Graduate Program
  • Tim Domeier, PhD
    Associate Professor
    Medical Pharmacology and Physiology
  • Mark Hannink, PhD
  • Jeni Hart, PhD
    Dean, Graduate School
    Vice Provost, Graduate Studies
    Professor, Higher Education
  • Alan Parrish, PhD
    Associate Professor
    Director of Graduate Studies
    Vice Chair for Education
    Medical Pharmacology and Physiology
  • Charlotte Phillips, PhD (Co-Director)
    Biochemistry; Child Health
  • Joel Shenker, MD, PhD
    Associate Professor, Clinical Neurology
    Director, Neurology Residency Program